Minister of Agriculture, \$3,500; Minister of Education, Minister of Industry and Natural Resources and Provincial Secretary, \$3,000 each. Each member of the Assembly is paid the sum of \$700 for each session attended by him and an additional amount of \$300, tax free, as indemnity for expenses incurred. The Speaker is paid a further additional sum of \$400 and an additional amount of \$200, tax free, for indemnity incurred and the Leader of the Opposition is paid a further additional sum of \$800 and an additional amount of \$200, tax free, for indemnity incurred by him in relation to his official duties.

15.—Lieutenant-Governors of Prince Edward Island, 1873-1950, Legislatures and Premiers, 1934-50, and Present Ministry as at June 1, 1950

Note.—See headnote to Table 14, p. 85.

Lieutenant-Governors

Name	Date of Commission	Name	Date of Commission		
WILLIAM ROBINSON. SIR ROBERT HODGSON. THOMAS H. HAVILAND ANDREW ARCHIBALD MACDONALD. JEDEDIAH S. CARVELL. GEORGE W. HOWLAN. P. A. MGINYEB. D. A. MACKINNON.	July 4, 1874 July 10, 1879 July 18, 1884 Sept. 2, 1839 Feb. 21, 1894	BENJAMIN ROGERS. A. C. MACDONALD. MURDOCK MCKINNON. FRANK R. HEARTZ CHARLES DALTON. GEORGE D. DEBLOIS. BRADFORD W. LEPAGE. J. A. BERNARD.	Sept. 2, 1919 Sept. 8, 1924 Nov. 19, 1930		

Legislatures, 1934-501

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of		
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution		
July 23, 1935 May 18, 1939 Sept. 15, 1943 Dec. 11, 1947	18th General Assembly 19th General Assembly 20th General Assembly 21st General Assembly	4 4	Sept. 25, 1935 Mar. 20, 1940 Feb. 15, 1944 Feb. 24, 1948	Aug. 20, 1943		

¹ The Ministries from 1934-50 were: 19th Ministry, sworn in Oct. 14, 1933, under the leadership of Hon W. J. P. MacMillan; 20th Ministry, sworn in Aug. 15, 1935, under the leadership of Hon. W. M. Lea; 21st Ministry, sworn in Jan. 14, 1936, under the leadership of Hon. T. A. Campbell; 22nd Ministry, sworn in May 11, 1943, under the leadership of Hon. J. Walter Jones.

² Life of Legislature not expired at time of going to press.

Twenty-Second Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, Dec. 11, 1947: 24 Liberals and 6 Progressive Conservatives.)

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment			Date of Present Appointment		
Premier and President of the Executive Council	Hon. J. Walter Jones. Hon. Frederic Alpred Large. Hon. Alexander W. Matheson. Hon. Walter E. Darry. Hon. C. Cleveland Baker. Hon. Eugene P. Cullen. Hon. Harry H. Cox. Hon. J. Wilfrid Arsenault. Hon. Joseph G. Campbell.	Mar. Oct. Apr. Apr. Apr. Feb.	18, 12, 13, 16, 16,	1944 1948 1949 1949 1949 1948 1948	Feb. Oct. Mar. Oct. Oct. Feb. Oct. Oct.	13, 12, 13, 13, 13, 10, 13,	1949 1948 1949 1949 1949 1950 1949